Board of Trustees

The Akshaya Patra Foundation (TAPF) is a public, charitable, secular Trust, registered in Bengaluru. The Board of Trustees comprise missionaries of ISKCON Bengaluru, corporate professionals, and entrepreneurs.

Our empowered teams spread across India, the USA and the UK play a large role in understanding the complex issues faced by children and spreading our cause through well-defined processes.


At Akshaya Patra, we firmly believe that good governance and ethics are the necessary foundations of any Non-Governmental Organisation. In pursuit of the same, the Foundation’s Board of Trustees play a primary role in ensuring good governance and functioning of the Foundation.

The Foundation’s Board comprises of Board of Trustees and Board of Advisors. Presently, there are eight Trustees and seven Advisors in the Foundation’s Board.


Madhu Pandit Dasa

Chairman, The Akshaya Patra Foundation

Madhu Pandit Dasa was born in Nagercoil, India. Armed with a B.Tech in Civil Engineering from IIT-Mumbai, he dedicated himself to the service of humanity while doing his M.Tech from IIT-Mumbai in 1981. In 1994, he initiated an integrated social development project for the benefit of rural people in Karnataka's Mysuru and Mandya districts. He set up a prototype organic farm based on environment-friendly farming methods, and an internationally-accredited farmer-training centre, on 110-acre land by the banks of the river Kaveri in Srirangapatam. Inspired by his spiritual guru, Srila Prabhupada’s message, he initiated the Akshaya Patra school lunch programme alongwith Sh. Mohan Das Pai, to provide mid-day meals to children studying in five government schools in Bengaluru. He was instrumental in designing the first centralised and mechanised kitchen of Akshaya Patra, to provide mid-day meals to underprivileged children in Government schools of Bengaluru Rural District, in July 2000. Currently, he is involved in devising strategies for innovative new models, governance, visionary guidance and in envisioning the path forward for the programme implementation.

Chanchalapathi Dasa

Vice Chairman, The Akshaya Patra Foundation

Chanchalapathi Dasa, populary known as "CPP" did his Masters in Electrical Communication Engineering from Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru. While pursuing his Bachelor’s degree, he came across with the teachings of Srila Prabhupada’s and met with Madhu Pandit Dasa to carry forward the mission together. He became a full-time member to fullfill the vision & aspiration of his spiritual guru Srila Prabhupada. Comitted to the cause since 1984, he is currently involved in strategy, growth, and governance of Akshaya Patra.

Sri Satya Gaura Chandra Dasa

Trustee, The Akshaya Patra Foundation

Satya Gaura Chandra Dasa is responsible for overseeing the overall Operations of Hyderabad Unit and is also providing guidance and governance to the Unit Operations In-Charge. Satya Gaura Chandra Dasa holds an M.Tech degree from IIT Chennai. He had worked with American MNC, Novell Software prior to starting his spiritual journey.

Sri Bharatarshabha Dasa

Regional President- Delhi NCR, UP and Uttarakhand The Akshaya Patra Foundation

Inspired by the teachings of Srila Prabhupada, Bharatarshabha Dasa joined ISKCON movement in 1992 while studying B Tech in Computer Science from REC Calicut. Since then, he has dedicated his life in the service of society through various initiatives. Akshaya Patra has immensely benefitted from his many contributions to address classroom hunger across the country. In this direction, he has been handling multiple areas related to public affairs, strategic outreach, policy planning and implementation, programme management and emergency food relief activities. Bharatarshabha Dasa serves as the Regional President for Akshaya Patra's feeding initiatives in Delhi NCR, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand . He has been instrumental in the commencement of the organisation's feeding operations in various parts of India, such as Karnataka, Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi and NCR region.

Sri Anil Swarup

IAS (Retired) - Trustee Former Secretary, Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Government of India

Anil Swarup is an Indian author and retired Indian Administrative Service officer of Uttar Pradesh cadre from 1981 batch. Mr. Anil Swarup has served in various capacities in his 38 years of career and later went on to become the Secretary to the Government of India. He has served in various key positions for both the Union Government and the Government of Uttar Pradesh, as Education Secretary of India, Coal Secretary of India, Additional Secretary in the Cabinet Secretariat of India, Additional Secretary of Labour & Empowerment, Export Commissioner in the Ministry of Commerce & Industry of India and as the District Magistrate of Lakhimpur Kheri during the Babri Masjid-Ram Janmabhoomi agitation under the former Chief Minister Kalyan Singh.

Sri K V Chowdary

IRS (Retired) - Trustee and Chairman of Audit Committee

K.V. Chowdary is an officer of the 1978 batch of Indian Revenue Service (IRS) who has served as the Chairman of the Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) and the Chairman of Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT). He has worked in the Department of Revenue as an Under Secretary and the Department of Company Affairs as a Deputy Secretary. A graduate in Mathematics from Loyola College, Chennai, and Post-Graduate in Mathematics from IIT Madras, he has held several executive positions in the Income Tax Department. An eloquent orator, he regularly addresses trade associations and chambers of commerce, including FICCI, CII and Indo American Chamber of Commerce, delivering talks on issues relating to integrity, anti-corruption, transparency and governance, etc. Currently, he holds directorship in CCL Products (India) Limited and Reliance Industries Limited.

Sri M S Unnikrishnan

Trustee CEO, IITB – Monash Research Academy, Mumbai Former Managing Director & CEO, Thermax

M.S. Unnikrishnan is the Managing Director & CEO of the Company since 1st July 2007. His current term as Managing Director & CEO is from 1st July 2017 to 30th June 2020. Mr. Unnikrishnan began his career with Thermax after graduating in Mechanical engineering from VNIT, Nagpur in 1982. He is a graduate in Advanced Management Programme from the Harvard Business School, USA.

Prof G Raghuram

Former Director, IIM-Bangalore.

Prof G Raghuram , is the Former Director, IIM-Bangalore. He was professor at IIM Ahmedabad for 32 years . He is a B Tech – IIT Chennai , Post grad from IIM A and has a PhD from Kellogg Management School , North western university

Smt Vidya Shah

Chairperson and CEO - EdelGive Foundation and Former CFO of Edelweiss Group

Smt Vidya Shah is the Chairperson and CEO - EdelGive Foundation and Former CFO of Edelweiss Group.She was recognised as India’s Top 100 Women in Finance by Association of International Wealth Management of India (AIWMI) in 2019. She is an alumnus of IIM Ahmedabad .

Share this post

Note : "This site is best viewed in IE 9 and above, Firefox and Chrome"